The Social Work Scotland Children and Families Standing Committee is the unique voice for the leadership of children and families social work and social care professions.

The Children and Families Standing Committee supports practice which protects the most vulnerable children and families in Scotland and which is led effectively and creatively to achieve social justice and public protection; promotes partnership between children and families, communities, statutory bodies and the 3rd sector, local government, ministers, academics and other professional bodies; and progresses a cohesive integrated response to improving outcomes for children.

The Subgroups support the work of the Children and Families Standing Committee by taking forward specific pieces of work identified and enables the sharing of practice, networking,  supports the committee feedback loop regarding new and emerging practice issues “on the ground”, and respond to particular emerging national needs e.g. responses to draft legislation on Adoption.

Meeting dates for the Subgroups are available at the bottom of this page.

People

Jacqui Pepper Co-Chair jpepper@pkc.gov.uk
Alison Gordon Co-Chair gordonal@northlan.gsx.gov.uk
Mike Burns Vice Chair mike.burns@glasgow.gov.uk
Sharon McAlees Vice Chair sharon.mcalees@inverclyde.gov.uk

meetings

WhenLocationAddress
10/01/2020
11am - 4pm
The Barracks, StirlingThe Barracks, Stirling FK8 1QZ
21/02/2020
11am - 4pm
The Barracks, StirlingThe Barracks, Stirling FK8 1QZ
19/06/2020
11.30am - 1.30pm
VCMS Teams
24/07/2020
11.30am - 1.30pm
VCMS Teams
07/08/2020
11.30am - 1.30pm
VCMS Teams
28/08/2020
11am - 4pm
VCMS Teams
23/10/2020
11am - 4pm
VCMS Teams
20/11/2020
11am - 4pm
VCMS Teams

Subgroup Meetings

Child Protection Subgroup

chair
:
Andy Jeffries
|
Andrew.Jeffries@edinburgh.gov.uk

Meetings

WhenLocationAddress
06/11/2020
1.30pm -3.30pm
VCMS Teams
11/12/2020
1.30pm -3.30pm
VCMS Teams

Corporate Parenting Subgroup

chair
:
Vivien Thomson
|
vivien.thomson@falkirk.gov.uk
chair
:
Scott Dunbar
|
scott.dunbar@edinburgh.gov.uk

Meetings

WhenLocationAddress

Early Help / Looked After at Home Subgroup

coChair
:
John Trainer
|
john.trainer@renfrewshire.gov.uk
coChair
:
Mary Glasgow
|
mary.glasgow@children1st.org.uk

Meetings

WhenLocationAddress

Residential Childcare Subgroup

chair
:
John Ryan
|
john.ryan@aberlour.org.uk

Meetings

WhenLocationAddress
04/12/2020
11am - 3pm
VCMS Teams

National Review Officers Network Subgroup

chair
:
Brenda-Anne Cochrane
|
Brenda_Anne.Cochrane@edinburgh.gov.uk

Meetings

WhenLocationAddress

Historic Abuse Subgroup

chair
:
Gaynor Clarke
|
GClarke@aberdeencity.gov.uk

Meetings

WhenLocationAddress
28/10/2020
13:00 – 16:00
VC
13/01/2021
13:00 – 16:00
The Barracks, StirlingThe Barracks, Stirling FK8 1QZ

Fostering and Adoption Subgroup

chair
:
Vivien Thomson
|
vivien.thomson@falkirk.gov.uk

Meetings

WhenLocationAddress
28/10/2020
10am - 1pm
VC
03/12/2020
10am - 1pm
VC