The Social Work Scotland Children and Families Standing Committee is the unique voice for the leadership of children and families social work and social care professions.

The Children and Families Standing Committee supports practice which protects the most vulnerable children and families in Scotland and which is led effectively and creatively to achieve social justice and public protection; promotes partnership between children and families, communities, statutory bodies and the 3rd sector, local government, ministers, academics and other professional bodies; and progresses a cohesive integrated response to improving outcomes for children.

The Subgroups support the work of the Children and Families Standing Committee by taking forward specific pieces of work identified and enables the sharing of practice, networking,  supports the committee feedback loop regarding new and emerging practice issues “on the ground”, and respond to particular emerging national needs e.g. responses to draft legislation on Adoption.

Meeting dates for the Subgroups are available at the bottom of this page.

People

Jacqui Pepper Chair jpepper@pkc.gov.uk
Joan Tranent Vice Chair joan.tranent@midlothian.gov.uk
Alison Sutherland Vice Chair alisonsutherland@north-ayrshire.gov.uk

meetings

WhenLocationAddress
15/01/2021
11.30am - 1.30pm
VC
26/02/2021
11.30am - 1.30pm
VC
19/03/2021
11.30am - 1.30pm
VC
16/04/2021
11.30am - 1.30pm
VC
21/05/2021
11.30am - 1.30pm
VC
18/06/2021
11.30am - 1.30pm
VC
16/07/2021
11.30am - 1.30pm
VC
20/08/2021
11.30am - 1.30pm
VC
17/09/2021
11.30am - 1.30pm
VC
22/10/2021
11.30am - 1.30pm
VC
19/11/2021
11.30am - 1.30pm
VC
17/12/2021
11.30am - 1.30pm
VC

Subgroup Meetings

Child Protection Subgroup

chair
:
Charles Rocks
|
charles.rocks@east-ayrshire.gcsx.gov.uk

Meetings

WhenLocationAddress
26/10/2021
1 - 2.30pm
VC
23/11/2021
1 - 2.30pm
VC
21/12/2021
1 - 2.30pm
VC

Corporate Parenting Subgroup

chair
:
Scott Dunbar
|
scott.dunbar@edinburgh.gov.uk

Meetings

WhenLocationAddress

Early Help / Family Support Subgroup

coChair
:
John Trainer
|
john.trainer@renfrewshire.gov.uk
coChair
:
Mary Glasgow
|
mary.glasgow@children1st.org.uk

Meetings

WhenLocationAddress

Residential Childcare Subgroup

chair
:
John Ryan
|
john.ryan@aberlour.org.uk

Meetings

WhenLocationAddress

National Review Officers Network Subgroup

chair
:
Brenda-Anne Cochrane
|
Brenda_Anne.Cochrane@edinburgh.gov.uk

Meetings

WhenLocationAddress

Historic Abuse Subgroup

chair
:
Gaynor Clarke
|
GClarke@aberdeencity.gov.uk

Meetings

WhenLocationAddress

Fostering and Adoption Subgroup

chair
:
Vivien Thomson
|
vivien.thomson@falkirk.gov.uk

Meetings

WhenLocationAddress